2012: The Quest for the Muscle Up

One thing I really want to accomplish this year is to be able to do a muscle up.  It’s a move that earlier this year I saw on video and decided I just had to be able to do it.  I hope that by the end of the year I can do them in sets.

For those of you who don’t know, a muscle-up is like a level up on a pull up.  You start from a dead hang, pull up and instead of stopping when the bar gets to your chin, you keep going and pop up to the point where you are on top of the bar, and it is at waist-level.  At first it may sound a lot easier than it actually is.  The muscle-up is a combination of strength, power and timing.

Here is one of several tutorials that I’ve been watching:

Right now I can do them on a 6′ bar when I jump from my feet.  But that’s cheating of course.  They should be done from a dead hang, ideally with as little kip as possible.  There is a basic pre-requisite list:

  • 15 perfect form pull ups (now I can do about 8-9)
  • 15 perfect form dips (now I can do about 12)
  • 10-15 “cheater” muscle-ups from standing (now I can do 8-9)

So I will continue to work at getting my reps up on these.  I would like to get my first muscle up by July 1st.  When I finally do, you can be sure I’ll post a video of it 🙂  Until then, I’ll be practicing and visualizing.

What is your current wild and audacious fitness goal?

About Iron Clad Ben

Just a dude who loves fruits, vegetables and exercise.
This entry was posted in Strength and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2012: The Quest for the Muscle Up

  1. aneforme says:

    To be a “bar-barian”. I’m nowhere close. Not giving up, though.

  2. KG says:

    That looks really hard. I think i’ve seen a video of the black guy freestyling on pull up bars on you tube. I guess gymnists can do this too.

Leave a Reply

