The 4 Year Old Who Quit Turkey Cold Turkey

To all my friends and readers in the United States, Happy Thanksgiving.

This Thanksgiving, I want to tell you a story.  When I was 4 years old my parents took me to a turkey farm for thanksgiving.  Boy, was I ever excited.  When we arrived there, I got to see all of the turkeys running around in a pen.  I was fascinated and immediately wanted one.

My parents said “pick out which one you want!”  So I pointed my finger at the friskiest of the whole bunch.  I was so excited!  This turkey was going to be my pet and run around in the backyard right?  This was going to be best day ever!!  Not exactly.  The farmer took the bird I pointed at and cut off its head on a stump.  It ran around for a few seconds and fell over.  I screamed.  I don’t remember much after that.

What I do know is, even since then, the sight of poultry be it turkey or chicken has been revolting to me.  I hated to look at even other people eating it.  Thanksgiving quickly became my least favorite holiday.  I dreaded it every year, and always tried to excuse myself from it as early as possible.  I hated being questioned every year why I refused to eat turkey.  People pushed it on me, saying it was good for me, that I wouldn’t “get full” eating just potatoes, cranberries and stuffing.

Somehow, as a kid, I just knew it wasn’t right.  Despite my family constantly prodding me that it was tradition, that eating turkey was good for me… somewhere deep down I just knew it was so truly wrong that I just could not partake.  People have been so conditioned in society to just think that turkeys are food.  We don’t want to come to terms with the fact that when 46 million turkeys will be eaten this week, it’s because 46 million turkeys were needlessly murdered.

It would be another 19 years before I became vegetarian.  To this day, it is still disgusting to me.  I can’t even eat the fake chicken patties that are made out of mushrooms, soy etc.  They remind me too much of real chicken.

Afterword:

I hope that your thanksgiving is fun and surrounded by good friends and family.  I hope that you take time to be grateful for the life that you have.  I hate being preachy but just think twice about what you eat this holiday, the animals want to live just as much as you do.

About Iron Clad Ben

Just a dude who loves fruits, vegetables and exercise.
This entry was posted in Veganism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The 4 Year Old Who Quit Turkey Cold Turkey

  1. allergy _free_vegan says:

    We are celebrating our second vegan Thanksgiving this year. We also avoid fake meats. We are gluten free, soy free, corn free, peanut free in our home. I cook real food from scratch. It’s not as hard as people think. Plus my dad doesn’t have to take his insulin after he eats. That makes it worth it.

Leave a Reply

