10 Months of Invulernability

I used to be pretty much constantly injured

From 2006 to 2010 I was getting injured all the time.  Feet, shins, ankles, knees, hips, quad, hamstrings, I injured it all during that time.  In fact, I seemed to only have brief periods of time between injuries where I could play at my full ability.  It sucked, I just attributed it to being “old” (read: mid-20s) and that injuries and soreness were just the price of activity past your teenage years.

Transitioning to invulnerability

All of that changed in 2011 when I transitioned from a mostly-processed food vegetarian diet to a whole-food, high-raw vegan diet.  For 10 months I pushed myself and pushed myself but just did NOT get injured.  My workout schedule naturally ballooned to 6 days/week because I constantly had energy and was rarely sore.  I have been running longer distances, lifting heavier weights, shredding longer at footbag practices.  It’s like I’ve invulnerable.  I just did not get injured.  I rarely even got sore.

Likewise, in 2011, I haven’t been sick.  Bad colds and bugs have gone around my office, my wife has gotten sick multiple times… and I haven’t gotten much more than a few sniffles.  Now I understand why people on really healthy diets get so frustrated with western medicine.  When you work to pro-actively cultivate health in your life, it’s like there is no place for disease.  That though, is a topic for a whole ‘nother post, maybe a whole book at some point.

At some point the ride had to end

Well, it finally happened, I finally got injured.  The worst part is, it was doing something kind of stupid.  A few days after my half marathon I decided to try to go for my first run in my vibram five-fingers (you know, those shoes that look like a cross between a sock and a glove?).  I read up on the internet about it.  Apparently you should only run 1/4 mile or less the first few times.  I foolishly thought given my diet,  my invulnerability-streak and that I had just ran a half-marathon, I could push the rules a little bit.  Nope.  I ran about 3/4 mile before my calves started to hurt.  The next day, they were incredibly tight and I had difficulty walking around.  That cleared up a couple days later so…  Yesterday, I went for a run in my regular running shoes.  I got about 2 miles when my calves and my ITB started to hurt.  Again, I’m struggling to walk today.

Well, now what?

So I guess it will be stretching and foam rolling for the next few days.  Luckily it’s not too bad, I’ve been injured much, much worse in the past.  But I’ve gotten hurt enough times to learn my lesson on how to bounce back from these injuries.  I’ll be laying off the running, and hitting the foam roller really hard the next few days.

About Iron Clad Ben

Just a dude who loves fruits, vegetables and exercise.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 10 Months of Invulernability

  1. herrsolera says:

    That’s awesome that you went so long without injury. When I started training for my first marathon, I was injured in the first 10 days. After changing my stride and making a post-run stretch a habit, I cut down on injuries considerably. But now I seem to go in waves: I will run for 2 months straight without a peep, PR’ing at every turn … and then I’ll go for a month of serious reduction because of a nagging pain in my knee or my ankle or lower back. Right now, I’m on the upswing. Here’s to enjoying it while it lasts!

  2. Jamie says:

    Sounds like me! I have so much energy I don’t even know what to do with myself! I workout for hours every day and feel awesome and jump around everywhere like an energizer bunny. It’s very hard for me to get sore – I recover so fast! I just want to go go go go. Anyway. I run in Vibrams or barefoot and it does take quite a while to adjust to. I injured myself at first by taking it too fast when I started last year.
    Hope you feel better soon! 🙂

    • Ha, I’m sure being a young kid helps all that. But it’s good that you’re forming that habit now that will serve you for the rest of your life. I wish I was exercising every day when I was your age. Keep it up!

  3. shy says:

    What kinds of injuries did you get before you started on your new diet? Im actually pondering on changing my diet drastically but I just dont know if its for the better, do you have any interesting links to share?

    • Hi there. I had:
      -Sprained ankle
      -Shin splints
      -Knee pain
      -Foot sprain
      -Quad pull
      -Chronically sore hip flexors

      Not all at the same time, but I kept getting injured in different places all of the time. It seems as soon as I overcame one injury a couple months later I would get hurt somewhere else. In regards to links to share about diet, some people can make drastic dietary changes, others cannot. When I developed severe food sensitives I had to drop a lot of things from my diet fairly quickly out of necessity, otherwise I would feel sick most of the time. But most changes for me happen slowly. The diet I follow now is mainly influenced by “Thrive” by Brendan Brazier (available at the library and on Amazon) and “The 80/10/10 Diet” by Dr. Doug Graham (available at the library and http://www.foodnsport.com). I recommend reading both books, but ultimately experimenting yourself and finding what works best for you is important.

      BTW the injuries I’m complaining about in this post, I am about 95% healed now. What a relief.

  4. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

