What Gives You Energy? + 2 Announcements

1) Short anecdotal story from my run today about what gives us energy.
2) 3:25 Update #1 using the NoMeatAthlete Half-Marathon guidehttp://www.nomeatathlete.com/half-marathon-roadmap/
3) 5:43 Update #2 I am doing another 60 days raw vegan on the 80/10/10 diet

Vegan Gym Rat is a blog about health, fitness, and pushing your limits on a plant based diet. You can get in touch with me via email ironcladben at mailbolt dot com or on twitter @IronCladBen

About Iron Clad Ben

Just a dude who loves fruits, vegetables and exercise.
This entry was posted in Running, Veganism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Gives You Energy? + 2 Announcements

  1. Great post. I think helping other people/animals gives me energy too. How on Earth do you eat 25 bananas in one day? I think my record is about 5.

    Whitney

    • ironcladben says:

      Hi Whitney, I eat 25 by drinking most of them in smoothies :o)

      • That is still crazy! My body freaks out if I drink over 40 oz of smoothie. I get really bloated and stuff. Have you experienced this?

        Whitney

      • Whitney, sorry to hear that. A few suggestions:
        1) Be careful with combining too many ingredients. The fewer ingredients the easier it is on your digestion. If you’re making a smoothie with tons of ingredients that can overwhelm your digestion as it tries to digest everything at once. A smoothie of just bananas and water is actually very tasty and VERY easy to digest. I suggest 3-4 ingredients MAX.
        2) Be careful not to combine starchy fruits (bananas) with acid fruits (citrus, pineapple, kiwis etc.). This can cause a no-fun-in-your-belly chemical reaction. Bananas should be blended with berries and then mangoes can be blended with pineapple, citrus, kiwis etc.
        3) It will take some time to build the stomach capacity for large smoothies. I used to barely be able to drink 1L at a time when I first started trying raw. Now I can drink a 2L (1200+ cal) smoothie for a meal in one sitting.

  2. Caro says:

    I’m so glad I found you, I’m a personal trainer and about to embark on PCRM’s 21 Day Vegan Kickstart and your blog will be great help. Keep up the awesome work!

    P.S. I’m not sure how to switch accounts on here, but my fitness blog is http://sweatglow.wordpress.com, in case you’re curious. Thanks again!

  3. Heidi says:

    Wait you did tough mudder? Jealous. That’s on my race list. I did a half a few years ago when I was vegetarian. Looking to do one in the near future while raw. Looking forward to hearing how your training goes. Good luck training for your half!

    • ironcladben says:

      Thanks, I did Tough Mudder back in January. The day after it was over I made the switch from vegetarian to vegan. It is truly an AWESOME experience. If you did that tri you should be able to to handle it. But I would still recommend doing something strength training, it will be invaluable.

Leave a Reply

