Eating Healthy While Traveling

A video I made about eating healthy (actually raw vegan) while on the road at a footbag tournament.  The key trick is BRING YOUR OWN.  By hauling my own bananas, dates and mangoes I was able to eat fruits and vegetables the entire trip.

Vegan Gym Rat is a blog about health, fitness, and pushing your limits on a plant based diet. You can get in touch with me via email ironcladben at mailbolt dot com or on twitter @IronCladBen

About Iron Clad Ben

Just a dude who loves fruits, vegetables and exercise.
This entry was posted in Footbag, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Eating Healthy While Traveling

  1. danidelicatessen says:

    Just came across your blog, I just started a 30 day raw food challenge myself-it’s nice to see someone who survived it! ; ) Don’t you get sick of that many bananas a day?!

    • ironcladben says:

      Hi Dani, I thought the same thing when I started. Truth is I eat most of the bananas in smoothies. You can kind of think of bananas as the pasta or rice of raw veganism. Then you add different things to change it up and give it more flavor. Usually that’s different berries, so strawberries, blue berries, black berries, etc. A big banana smoothie with just a handful of berries tastes totally different. It has yet to get old on me. It’s 3pm and I’ve already eaten 25 bananas today. As long as the bananas are ripe (dino-weiner status) it’s easy to eat them in high quantities. Also, as I ate more of them I definitely noticed that organic ones taste better, but I’ll still eat conventional if that’s what’s available at the store.

      Good luck!

  2. That’s awesome! Want to get there someday!

  3. Heidi says:

    EXCELLENT video. Couldn’t have said any of it better myself. Love hearing about your experience and how much positive progress you’ve made. Also appreciate how you broke everything down for people watching it. Traveling can seem overwhelming, but I totally agree that if you have the opportunity to bring your own fruit along you’re good to go.

    Had 7D mangoes when we went to Hawaii a few years ago (before going veg)…yummy! Hope you enjoyed them. If you did, and ever travel to Hawaii, they’re available at almost any store.

    Lastly, never heard ripe bananas being called dinosaur weiners. I think I might steal this!

    • ironcladben says:

      Thanks Heidi! I like the idea of taking something that may seem overwhelming to people and breaking it down into demonstrable components to show that anyone can do it. A lot of people like Mike Arnstein and Sam’s Raw Truth kinda did that for me so I wanted to pay it forward.
      Oh and the “dinosaur weiner” term was coined by the Raw Brahs as far as I know. Of course I love it so much I had to spread that too. Please use it and spread it!

  4. Mary Mac says:

    Great video-inspires me to do the same-maybe someday…
    Besides the shakes-what did you do to hydrate?

    • ironcladben says:

      Hi Mary, to stay hydrated I like to drink a LOT of water first thing in the morning before I eat any food. Usually at least 1L (32oz) sometimes more. I think when there’s nothing else in the stomach, it’s easier for the body to absorb the water. I’m not sure of the exact science, but for me this trick works really well.

Leave a Reply

