Training for the US Open Footbag Championships

I’m excited!  A few weeks ago I bought my ticket to attend the 2011 US Open Freestyle Footbag Championships in Boise, ID, USA.  The first footbag tournament I ever attended was the US Open in 2006 in Portland, Oregon.  Every year I’ve told myself I would go back but didn’t.  Finally, 5 years later I am headed back.  I am so excited!  What’s even cooler is that the tournament is being run and hosted by my good friend Zeb Jackson who was one of the first friends I made in footbag at this tournament 5 years ago.

So lately I have switched up my training regimen.  I have now dropped running from my regimen and I am playing footbag 5 days/week and strength training 1-2 days per week.  I am still cycling occasionally, but only as transportation.  Let me tell you, I am loving it.  First off, it’s over 100 degrees F here almost every day in Texas, making running seriously difficult to pull off.  Second, I am loving getting to play footbag so much.  My body is in fantastic condition and I am really seeing my game pickup with playing almost every day.

Whether I compete at the US Open is still up in the air.  As I’ve said before, I really do these things for the love of the game, not to compete with anyone else.  I’m just more excited to gather with the best and most enthusiastic in the country and play with them for a long weekend.  I’ll try to make a video while I’m there.

So the running is on hiatus, but starting late August I will be back to training.  In the fall I already have a half-marathon, a 10-mile Tough Mudder and a 12K on my radar.  I’ve picked up No Meat Athlete’s Vegetarian Half-Marathon Roadmap and I’m pretty excited to break it out next month.  The idea of meso-cycle/macro-cycle training is fun.  I’ve never done that before.  I’m sure it will be a struggle building back up my running endurance, but progression is part of the fun 🙂

Vegan Gym Rat is a blog about health, fitness, and pushing your limits on a plant based diet. You can get in touch with me via email ironcladben at mailbolt dot com or on twitter @IronCladBen

About Iron Clad Ben

Just a dude who loves fruits, vegetables and exercise.
This entry was posted in Footbag, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

