My take on the Bob Parsons elephant story

Note: I’m probably close to the opposite side of the spectrum of the vegans that care about animal rights, join PETA, etc.  They are important to me, but it is beyond the scope of this blog.  However, this incident just really upset me and I felt I had to say something.

So if you’ve been paying attention to the news, you’ve probably heard that Bob Parsons the CEO of Godaddy shot an elephant while he was in Africa and then posted a video about it.  My first reaction was what “what a f$%&ing douchelord!”.  I think this video from Matthew Armstrong, especially about the part that it was just his insecurity, really resonated with me.  You can watch the whole thing, but the first few minutes are the best, IMO

What drives a man to want to shoot an elephant and boast about it on the internet?  I can understand the drive to accomplish things.  This guy already has a multi-million dollar internet business.  He likes to get “edgy” with sexy Superbowl ads people will talk about.  To me, the elephant incident and the sexy super bowl ads are not accomplishments, they are merely cries for attention.

Bob, take a look at yourself dude:

Bob ParsonsAll these “accomplishments”, but take a good hard look at yourself man.  Your head looks like a swollen pumpkin.  Can you run around the block without getting winded?  Can you do even 3 chin-ups?  A multi-million dollar company doesn’t mean a whole lot if you’re going to have a heart attack in the next 5 years.  If you want to accomplish something start with mastering yourself.  Get your health in order.  Get secure with yourself.  Think about your impact.  Leave a legacy of something worthwhile.  Take your power and do something that has a lasting positive impact on the world.  I’ll give you a hint, it’s not killing animals or making sexy commercials for domain names.

If I ever get a domain name for this blog, you can bet it WON’T be through GoDaddy.

Vegan Gym Rat is a blog about health, fitness, and pushing your limits on a plant based diet. You can get in touch with me via email ironcladben at mailbolt dot com or on twitter @IronCladBen

About Iron Clad Ben

Just a dude who loves fruits, vegetables and exercise.
This entry was posted in Veganism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

