I play a sport 99.99% of the world doesn’t care about

The sport I love

I play footbag.  When most people hear the name of that sport they just give me a blank stare.  You know, hackysack?  Well hackysack is a brand name and footbag is the name of the actual sport.  Usually one of the next things people say to me is:

“People still play that?”
“You must have a lot of free time”
“Why don’t you play a real sport?”
“That would be impressive if you could do it with a soccer ball.”

These things used to annoy me.  Now I seriously don’t care much at all.  I’ve tried to explain it to countless people, few understand.  I’ve also noticed that when people do actually appreciate it, or praise my abilities, I don’t care about that much either.  These extrinsic things like praise, disrespect, money, fame, acknowledgement, attention and admiration never come to mind.  I don’t care about them.  It’s not a teen-angst-like feigned apathy, it’s closer to the passive detachment of the Buddhist monk.

Why I play

Bottom line, I play because I love it.  It ties in with my gym rat philosophy of simply wanting to get better and enjoying the process.  I love to hit new tricks for the first time.  I love to link new combinations before that I’ve never done.  I love to get in the zone and forget about everything else for a short while.  Footbag is my meditation, footbag is my sport, footbag is my exercise, footbag is my highest form of self-expression, and much more.

I play purely for intrinsic reasons.  I have no extrinsic reasons.

About Iron Clad Ben

Just a dude who loves fruits, vegetables and exercise.
This entry was posted in Footbag, Philosophy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I play a sport 99.99% of the world doesn’t care about

  1. Dustin says:

    So that makes me .01% that enjoy the sport, watched some of the videos, amazing stuff – I was so excited when I went outside of foot over head to other outside of foot – I got some work to do…keep it up!!!

Leave a Reply

