Half Marathon Training Week 4

Hi Everyone, been a while since I’ve made a post.  Welcome to all of my new blog readers!  No doubt you found me from this post on No Meat Athlete:

30-day Trial of 80/10/10 / Fruitarianism

If you haven’t seen that yet, go check it out.  Here’s my weeks 3 & 4 update for Half-Marathon training.

I’m on vacation in Key West right now.  Got some ideas going through my head, looking forward to putting out some new videos and posts when I get back.

Vegan Gym Rat is a blog about health, fitness, and pushing your limits on a plant based diet. You can get in touch with me via email ironcladben at mailbolt dot com or on twitter @IronCladBen

About Iron Clad Ben

Just a dude who loves fruits, vegetables and exercise.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Half Marathon Training Week 4

  1. Mike says:

    Hi, Vegan here, I wouldn’t call myself an athlete, but I do crossfit and run when I can work it into the schedule… wanted to ask a question regarding your 80/10/10. I hear from many, many sources that too much fruit is not great for you (i.e. weight gain) because of the amount of sugar you’re taking in from the fruits. What are your feelings on this? I’m trying to work out a way to get my diet right, be able to perform at the gym and feel all around “good”. Thanks, advice appreciated.

    • hi Mike, thanks for your comment. I’ll try to answer in a succinct way but it’s a highly contested topic that has spurred many debates so I could go on for quite a while.

      The core argument is that sugar does not make us fat. Rather, the fat we eat is the fat we wear. Look at people on YouTube, 30BananasADay, FoodNSport who are doing 80/10/10. They are all lean and mean. The key difference is naturally occurring sugar in whole foods (fruits and vegetables) vs. refined sugar (table sugar, processed foods, soda, juice, agave nectar etc.). Naturally occurring sugar comes in a complete package from Nature along with enzymes, co-enzymes, fiber and micronutrients that make it nutritious and easy to digest and assimilate. Refined sugars have often few or none of these. Fiber is important because it slows the release of sugar into the blood, preventing potentially harmful blood sugar issues.

      Look at any animal in nature that is similar to humans. They eat fruits and vegetables (and to some smaller degree, bugs and nuts) in their natural, whole, unrefined state. Does the monkey worry about getting fat from eating too many bananas? Of course not. But they do studies where they put monkeys in a lab, put them on the standard american diet and coupled with less exercise in captivity they become fat, depressed and exhibit other unnatural behaviors.

      Have you ever heard of someone who got fat from eating too much fruit? Doesn’t happen! Sugar gets a bad rep because most people eat unhealthy junk foods full of refined sugars, and then sugar gets all the blame. Mainstream science does studies on people who drink a lot of soda and other foods with high fructose corn syrup then jump to conclusion that fructose must be what makes us fat. We can understand how that might seem logical at first, but it’s poor science to jump to that conclusion without testing to see if fruit itself makes us fat.

      Anyways, hope I answered your question, but if you have more let me know. I would highly suggest reading 80/10/10 because it explains all the science behind the diet, you should be able to pick it up at any local library. If not, they should be able to order a copy for their branch. Dr. Graham who wrote the book has been a raw vegan since the 1970s and at age 59 is in amazing health. Just search for a video of his fitness stunts on YouTube, you’ll see.

  2. Mike says:

    Thanks for the reply, sounds great. I feel like I just asked you the 80/10/10 equivalent of the “where do you get your protein” for us vegans question. Thanks for humoring me!

    In one of your other vids you talked about how you eat “at the office”, you made 3 or 4 smoothies and took them with you. I feel like whenever I make a smoothie and don’t drink it right away it loses it’s “texture” and gets all weird and “bubbly” almost. Do you have this problem, or maybe it doesn’t happen because you have them cold and in sealed jars?

    Your link for the dates is awesome by the way, I can’t believe what a deal that is for all those dates!

    • Mike, yeah, don’t worry about it. I wanted to be civil, and explain everything but not turn you off so I hope I accomplished that.

      Regarding the smoothies, it could have something to do with what you put in the smoothie, and the ratios of ingredients. I only use water (never soy milk, almond milk etc anymore), fruit (predominantly bananas or mangoes) and leafy greens. Sometimes the water will settle and I’ll have to shake it up a little bit. My smoothies are pretty liquidy, I don’t like em too thick, but that’s just my preference. That said, I make a lot of smoothies and I have a formula that I pretty much stick to these days. I did a lot of experimenting for a while and made quite a few bad smoothies. Some I was able to soldier-through em and finish em, but a few were so bad I had to dump them out. Such is collateral damage in the pursuit of greater knowledge and understanding of the optimal diet of the human organism.

Leave a Reply

