Pineapple Pico de Gallo

I never thought I’d do many recipes on this blog, but I made this the other day and it was AMAZING.  Here is a Texas treat that just happens to be vegan and raw.  I was a huge hot sauce and salsa fanatic before I even move to Texas, but now I eat it all the time.  To sweeten the recipe I threw some pineapple in there because well, I love pineapple and I thought it would go well.  I’ve never actually made pico de gallo before but this came out delicious.  In fact I didn’t even use chips, just ate it with a spoon.  Quick prep time, but you gotta let it sit overnight to soak in its own juices.

Recipe:

  • 1/2 of an onion
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1 half bunch of cilantro (20 sprigs?), just the leaves
  • 1/4 of a pineapple
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 1-3 jalapenos depending on how you want it, I used 3 and it was HOT even by my standards.

Dice everything but the limes into salsa-sized pieces and put into a container.  Squeeze the limes over it, cover it and let it sit overnight to soak in its own juices.  The next day grab some chips, some sliced zucchini or just a spoon and enjoy!
Vegan Gym Rat is a blog about health, fitness, and pushing your limits on a plant based diet. You can get in touch with me via email ironcladben at mailbolt dot com or on twitter @IronCladBen

About Iron Clad Ben

Just a dude who loves fruits, vegetables and exercise.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pineapple Pico de Gallo

  1. Pingback: The Only Healthy Eating Guide You'll Ever Need | No Meat Athlete

  2. Pingback: A healthy eater’s guide to the grocery store. « iknowsquat

Leave a Reply

